Brno Moto3: Canet takes points lead with win

Aron Canet took the Moto3 championship lead by winning at Brno after gaining three places on the last lap.

Snipers Honda duo Romano Fenati and Tony Arbolino led the first half of the race but the status quo was ended when Jaume Masia nearly hit Arbolino at Turn 1, shaking up the order.

Lorenzo Dalla Porta shot up to the lead from seventh in one lap, and then spent most of the time in first until the finish, holding the advantage at the start of each of the last five laps.

But Dalla Porta was overtaken by both Arbolino and Canet at Turn 3 of the last lap.

Canet then also pulled off a move on Arbolino and managed to pull away as Dalla Porta rejoined the fight, the Max Racing KTM rider crossing the line first by 0.159s.

Leopard Honda rider Dalla Porta passed Arbolino to finish second for the fifth time this year, falling three points being Canet in the championship.

Arbolino settled for third with Masia (Bester Capital KTM) taking fourth ahead of Niccolo Antonelli (SIC58 Honda).

Antonelli was the hero of the race after he lost his third-place grid position due to a bike failure and started from the pits, but still recovered to the top five.

Ai Ogura (Honda Team Asia) and Andrea Migno (Bester Capital) were sixth and seventh with Fenati settling for eighth, despite fighting for the win early on.

The top 10 was completed by local rider Jakub Kornfeil (PrustelGP KTM) and Darryn Binder (CIP KTM).

The race had several crashes, the first of them being John McPhee, who got off the line slowly and was hit violently from behind by debutant Yuki Kunii.

Kunii was briefly knocked unconscious after the hit, while McPhee was taken to the medical centre with leg pain, but wasn’t diagnosed with any serious injuries.

EG0,0 Honda teammates Alonso Lopez and Sergio Garcia later collided, the former shoving the latter in frustration afterwards.

Tatsuki Suzuki, Tom Booth-Amos, Filip Salac, Riccardo Rossi, Albert Arenas, Kaito Toba, Celestino Vietti all fell during the race.

Gabriel Rodrigo missed the race after he fractured his right collarbone and pelvis in an FP2 crash.

1 Arón CanetKTM18 
2 Lorenzo Dalla PortaHonda180.159
3 Tony ArbolinoHonda180.217
4 Jaume MasiaKTM180.404
5 Niccolo AntonelliHonda180.499
6 Ai OguraHonda180.530
7 Andrea MignoKTM180.715
8 Romano FenatiHonda180.737
9 Jakub KornfeilKTM181.063
10 Darryn BinderKTM181.757
11 Ayumu SasakiHonda183.863
12 Raúl FernándezKTM185.470
13 Makar YurchenkoKTM185.495
14 Can ÖncüKTM185.540
15 Dennis FoggiaKTM188.259
16 Marcos RamirezHonda189.056
17 Stefano NepaKTM1823.010
18 Deniz ÖncüKTM1825.241
19 Celestino Vietti RamusKTM181’11.129
  Kazuki MasakiKTM162 Laps
  Alonso LópezHonda135 Laps
  Kaito TobaHonda135 Laps
  Sergio GarcíaHonda135 Laps
  Albert ArenasKTM513 Laps
  Riccardo RossiHonda315 Laps
  Filip SalačKTM315 Laps
  Tatsuki SuzukiHonda117 Laps
  Tom Booth-AmosKTM117 Laps
  John McPheeHonda117 Laps
 Yuki KuniiHonda  

Source: Read Full Article