McLaren confirms its F1 driver lineup for 2020

Lando Norris, left, and Carlos Sainz have helped McLaren rise to No. 4 in the Formula 1 Constructors’ Standings in 2019.

The McLaren F1 team has confirmed an unchanged driver lineup for the 2020 Formula 1 season, with Lando Norris and Carlos Sainz remaining at the team for a second year.

McLaren has shown signs of improvement during the opening half of the F1 season and enters the British Grand Prix weekend at Silverstone having scored back-to-back double points finishes for the first time since the Australian and Bahrain races in 2018.

“The announcement provides the team with the continuity to keep pushing forward,” said team boss Andreas Seidl. “The performance of both Carlos and Lando have been a key part of the team’s progress. Their feedback has enabled our engineers to develop the MCL34 and look ahead to the MCL35.

“Carlos has played a key role in developing the car using his experience, while Lando has got up to speed with the demands of Formula 1 incredibly quickly and is growing in confidence every weekend. This is welcome news for the whole McLaren team, and we look forward to continuing our partnership together.”

McLaren Racing CEO Zak Brown said that the decision to announce a lineup so early was to stop the inevitable speculation that one or both of their drivers could be headed elsewhere for next year.

“I’m delighted we’re able to announce our 2020 driver lineup ahead of the team’s home race at the British Grand Prix this weekend,” said Brown. “Both Carlos and Lando are proving themselves as racers and are integral to our path to recovery. They have made a real contribution to the positive momentum and morale within the team, both at the track and back at the factory.”

Source: Read Full Article