Mid-Ohio IndyCar: Dixon leads opening practice

Five-time NTT IndyCar Series champion and five-time Mid-Ohio winner Scott Dixon topped the times in first practice for Sunday’s Honda Indy 200, the 13th round of the season.

The #9 Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda lapped the 2.258-mile road course in 66.0973sec, an average speed of 122.982mph.

He was 0.1482sec ahead of Spencer Pigot in the Ed Carpenter Racing-Chevrolet, who edged Team Penske-Chevrolet’s Simon Pagenaud and Josef Newgarden.

James Hinchcliffe was an encouraging fifth fastest for Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports-Honda ahead of the fastest Andretti Autosport-Honda driver, Ryan Hunter-Reay, and the third Penske, that of Will Power.

Felix Rosenqvist was top rookie, taking full advantage of the extra set of Firestones granted to newbies, and finished up eighth, albeit half a second off his session-leading teammate.

Max Chilton’s Carlin-Chevrolet was 10th ahead of Jack Harvey, whose Meyer Shank Racing with Arrow SPM entry is due to make its first start since Toronto.

Series returnee RC Enerson, who tested for Carlin in the offseason but hasn’t raced an IndyCar since 2016, did a fine job to get within 0.8sec of teammate Chilton and outpace both Zach Veach and Tony Kanaan.

Second practice starts at 3.15pm local (Eastern) time, and will see drivers try out the Firestone red-sidewalled alternate compounds for the first and only time before qualifying tomorrow afternoon.

Session results:

19 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing1’06.0973 
221 Spencer Pigot Ed Carpenter Racing1’06.24550.1482
322 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske1’06.26650.1692
42 Josef Newgarden Team Penske1’06.30640.2091
55 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports1’06.36110.2638
628 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport1’06.44940.3521
712 Will Power Team Penske1’06.58410.4868
810 Felix Rosenqvist Chip Ganassi Racing1’06.60500.5077
918 Sébastien Bourdais Dale Coyne Racing1’06.73950.6422
1059 Max Chilton Carlin1’06.93640.8391
1160 Jack HarveyMeyer Shank Racing with Arrow SPM1’07.03600.9387
1288 Colton Herta Harding Racing1’07.05010.9528
1327 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport1’07.10431.0070
1430 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1’07.14721.0499
1598 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport1’07.25961.1623
1620 Ed Jones Ed Carpenter Racing1’07.29741.2001
1715 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing1’07.32841.2311
187 Marcus Ericsson Schmidt Peterson Motorsports1’07.33091.2336
194 Matheus Leist A.J. Foyt Enterprises1’07.36761.2703
2019 Santino Ferrucci Dale Coyne Racing1’07.41951.3222
2131 R.C. Enerson Carlin1’07.65751.5602
2226 Zach Veach Andretti Autosport1’07.84301.7457
2314 Tony Kanaan A.J. Foyt Enterprises1’07.94311.8458

Source: Read Full Article