Austin Dillon fastest in Friday’s Cup practice at Michigan

With three poles in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series already this season, Austin Dillon looks primed to win a fourth.

Late in the 50-minute session Friday, Dillon rocketed to the top of the speed chart, leading practice at Michigan International Speedway with an average lap speed of 189.969 mph.

“Those first couple runs weren’t very comfortable. We’re still a little free,” Dillon said. “I’m really proud of ECR power and we have a rocket ship today.”

Dillon has won poles this season at Fontana, Calif., Talladega, Ala., and Chicagoland. He’s still looking for his first win of the 2019 season.

In 14 career starts at Michigan, Dillon’s best performance is a pair of fourth-place finishes in 2018 and 2015.

Brad Keselowski ended up second (189.929 mph) and Jimmie Johnson was third (189.603 mph). Alex Bowman and Daniel Hemric completed the top-five.

Rounding the top-10 speeds were Kevin Harvick, Clint Bowyer, Ryan Blaney, the June Michigan race winner Joey Logano and Paul Menard.

Bowyer had to sit out the final 15 minutes of the practice session as his No. 14 Ford was late out of the garage last weekend for qualifying.

13 Austin Dillon Chevrolet637.901  189.969
22 Brad Keselowski Ford837.9090.0080.008189.929
348 Jimmie Johnson Chevrolet737.9740.0730.065189.603
488 Alex Bowman Chevrolet538.1040.2030.130188.957
58 Daniel Hemric Chevrolet538.1040.2030.000188.957
64 Kevin Harvick Ford538.1060.2050.002188.947
714 Clint Bowyer Ford538.1490.2480.043188.734
812 Ryan Blaney Ford438.1780.2770.029188.590
922 Joey Logano Ford438.1920.2910.014188.521
1021 Paul Menard Ford738.2280.3270.036188.344
119 Chase Elliott Chevrolet738.2700.3690.042188.137
1242 Kyle Larson Chevrolet738.2890.3880.019188.044
1324 William Byron Chevrolet738.2960.3950.007188.009
141 Kurt Busch Chevrolet538.3250.4240.029187.867
1519 Martin Truex Jr. Toyota538.3570.4560.032187.710
1611 Denny Hamlin Toyota538.3580.4570.001187.705
1720 Erik Jones Toyota738.3820.4810.024187.588
1841 Daniel Suarez Ford438.3880.4870.006187.559
1918 Kyle Busch Toyota538.4550.5540.067187.232
2013 Ty Dillon Chevrolet738.4850.5840.030187.086
2110 Aric Almirola Ford538.4970.5960.012187.028
2217 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Ford638.5140.6130.017186.945
2336 Matt Tifft Ford738.5590.6580.045186.727
246 Ryan Newman Ford738.6150.7140.056186.456
2537 Chris Buescher Chevrolet738.6760.7750.061186.162
2643 Darrell Wallace Jr. Chevrolet738.8420.9410.166185.366
2795 Matt DiBenedetto Toyota538.8940.9930.052185.119
2847 Ryan Preece Chevrolet738.8940.9930.000185.119
2934 Michael McDowell Ford538.9651.0640.071184.781
3038 David Ragan Ford439.1001.1990.135184.143
3100 Landon Cassill Chevrolet539.2621.3610.162183.383
3215 Ross Chastain Chevrolet139.6081.7070.346181.781
3332 Corey Lajoie Ford339.6091.7080.001181.777
3451 Cody Ware Ford339.9952.0940.386180.023
3552 Austin Theriault Ford940.1762.2750.181179.211
3627 Quin Houff Chevrolet140.3272.4260.151178.540
3777 Reed Sorenson Chevrolet240.7062.8050.379176.878
3853 Spencer Boyd Ford1342.7914.8902.085168.260

Source: Read Full Article